Gooey Heaven s’mores pie

20120525_165050
I am writing this with a fork in my hand and a watery mouth. This piece of pie is an intense pleasure. It is gooey, it is heavenly, and it’s S’mores Pie. Even though I am not a big fan of marshmallows (for its animal source) but s’mores is different story. Most of the times when we spend a weekend or a night in my uncle’s house at the mountains, s’mores is necessary. Roasted either by the fire or by the old Lebanese village fireplace (sobya), we usually like to bring the night to an end with a heavy round of s’mores. Here is my last year’s vacation there [LINK]

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bringing s’mores back home doesn’t feel the same. The experience and moments shared around that little delight cannot be brought to urban life. Nevertheless, the taste can bring back those memories and get you wanting more. But since s’mores is not that practical for everyday consumption, I spotted in one of the few many food blogs I’m subscribed to this interesting recipe and added it to my to-do-list.

20120522_205532

This is one of the few recipes that I repeated in a period of one month. I had to experiment with it. I tried it with peanut-butter-infused crust, cupcakes, a thinner layer, and black & white. It tasted AMAZING in all of those experiments except that the crust didn’t get to hold well when (my homemade) peanut butter was added.

2dd03908946711e1a87612313804ec91_7 I shared the photo of my first experiment (above) on twitter, and I instantly got a reply from the owner of Cupcake Box, Randa Kabrit, who was amazed that I baked this and decided to meet later. We met and shared a LONG food talk and got her a piece of that pie. As she expressed later, she nearly cried. She asked to finish the pie, thinking that I didn’t have my portion earlier. It was interesting sharing this food passion with a real foodie. Randa decided to feature my recipe as Flavor of The Week at Cupcake Box. It was last week (May 21 to 27) and it was the most popular #FlavorOfTheWeek so far. And upon that success, I was given the option to propose another flavor next month. Let the experiments begin.

20120525_164807

Gooey Heaven S’mores Pie (24cm round pan)

Crust:

  • 2 cups crushed biscuits*
  • ½ cup melted butter**

*I used 1 pack of Digestive and got the rest from regular biscuits
** I mixed regular butter with my homemade coconut butter

Filling:

  • ¾ cup milk
  • ¾ cup cream
  • 1 ½ cup chocolate*
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Pinch of salt
  • Marshmallows

Procedure

· Mix the biscuits and the butter and press at the bottom of your pan

· Bake for around 10 minutes

· While it is baking, heat the milk and cream

· When it’s warm, add the chocolates* and the salt and stir.

· Keep stirring until all the chocolate has melted and the mixture is well incorporated into a thick chocolate mixture then remove from heat

· Whisk the eggs and add vanilla then add to the chocolate mixture and whisk well.

· Pour over the crust and bake for 15-20 minutes or until it sets well

· Take out of the oven, place the marshmallows on top then put back with the broiler on, and keep until the marshmallows are browned. It would take a minute or 3, so be sure not to move away from the oven.

Cool down and refrigerate

When serving, use an oiled knife to achieve those perfectly cut slices.

Can be served cold, but it would be mouthwatering if heated a bit and drizzled with some chocolate sauce.

*In my final experiment, I used half the amount of milk and half the cream, with half the amount of chocolate using white chocolate with one egg, poured it over the crust, baked it until it’s almost set. Then I did the same with dark chocolate and baked it until fully set.

20120522_205829
Do you usually have s’mores? Does it bring any memories to you?

6 thoughts on “Gooey Heaven s’mores pie

  1. Looks really good. Never had s’mores, and not a particular fan of marshmallows, but you really got me interested here.
    Btw, I also prepare homemade coconut butter, but haven’t been able to make significant amounts so far… Which method do you use to make yours? do you use heat at any point?

    • I made my coconut butter the same way I do any nut butter. You just pop it into the food processor or blender, turn it on and wait until it turns into a cream-like texture. Mine was a bit grainy because my machine is not that powerful. But I added around a teaspoon of vegetable oil to help it blend.
      It took some time to form, and you should start with a good amount of shredded coconut (maybe 1 kg or so)
      I don’t know how well is my butter, but it is solidifying when cooled.

      What other nut butters have you made?

      • Thing is I try to use whole coconut as a starting point. I proceeded like for coconut milk (blend the pieces with the coconut water), then left the mixture to ferment and naturally separate. Problem is that the fat layer was too thin and very hard to scoop out, so I had to resort to gentle heating to be able to separate them. Still it wasn’t that easy. I guess if you start with humongous amounts of coconuts, the process would be easier. But having to crack several coconuts… mashroo3😉

        You technique makes coconut cream, which is not pure fat. It works beautifully in lot of recipes, but can’t be used for cooking, for example frying.

        Otherwise, I make almonds, cashews and peanut butter. Also regular dairy butter and ghee. Haven’t yet succeeded in making good tahini, but still working on it…

  2. Sounds yummy and super easy. I wouldn’t use this as you would coconut oil (or butter as most people call it when it is solid) in baking and cooking. It is not pure fat and contains fibers, so it behaves differently.
    BUT, for your s’mores, creamy pies, frozen desserts it would bring all the goodness of coconut!! It would be the magical ingredient😀

    You know what? we could make delicious spreads with such a “butter”: add some cocoa, vanilla essence and sweeten it, you’ll have a delicious chocolate coconut spread. Or perhaps a jam or preserve for a fruity version.
    Thanks for the idea!

Share Your Thoughts

