Food Addiction: Basil

IMG_0189

As I have stated earlier, I have been lately crazy for 2 things. I mentioned one of them; peanut butter. The second is BASIL. I have been using it in everything; roasted tomatoes pizza with basil pesto, pesto penne with sautéed tomatoes, grilled halloumi with basil and tomatoes, mozzarella in carrozza, basil mojito and even lemon basil sorbet. The recipes will roll one at a time now that I’m very excited about the simple ingredient.

Print DSCN1909   DSCN1765

My uncle’s mountain house is my sanctuary when I want to stay away from the city. I have spent a week by myself last year, and I am willing to do it again this year. Now the piece of land next to the house is full of greens; parsley, lettuce, rocket leaves, watercress, cucumbers, tomatoes and of course basil. It also contains some fruity trees that are still young to produce. I am mainly satisfied with the basil and the tomatoes because they are delicious and go well together.

DSCN1703  DSCN1691  DSCN1687  DSCN1675  DSCN1641

Basic Pesto

4 cups fresh basil

½ cup extra virgin olive oil

2 garlic cloves

4 tablespoons pine nuts (lightly roasted)

4 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

Blend the basil and garlic in the food processor until smooth
Start pouring olive oil gradually until you get a smooth paste
Mix in the pine nuts and cheese and pulse and until well incorporated

Use immediately or keep in the refrigerator for a few days
Otherwise, skip the cheese and pine nuts and freeze in silicone muffin tray, thaw before using and blend pine nuts and cheese immediately before using

DSCN1940  IMG_0186

I have delayed the post till I’ve had enough basil. Yes, I have had a lot of basil that i could drown in (oh sweet heaven,) and now I will be indulging into basil all the time. And since I have had this time with my favorite ingredient, it’s time to dedicate a whole month for it. So, here it is, Mr. Basil, September is all dedicated to you!

Post #1: Mozzarella in Carrozza

2 thoughts on “Food Addiction: Basil

  1. yum, love basil; I totally relate when you say your uncle’s house is your sanctuary; I’ve got mine too with an orchard to boot and I escape there, well, once a week, and hope some day I can live there full-time. Just read about basil in the newspaper apparently it has a lot of benefits besides its delicious taste in foods..

    • Oh yes it is. I wish I could just give everything up and plant that land and live from its produce.

      And yes, basil. Oh basil, just the smell of it is magical. It is one of my favorites along with lavender.

Share Your Thoughts

