Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

IMG_20121115_121956

Ever had that feeling when you can’t move your body out of bed? No, not because it was Monday, but because you feel like you’re coming down with something.

This is what I felt this Monday. I spent the whole day lying (except for the doctor’s visit) and decided to stay away from solid foods. Had a fruit smoothie in the morning and that ever healing chicken soup (ever wondered what magic does this chicken soup has?)

Apart from my sickness, I took this at-home time to fix/update some of my online accounts. I’ve been uploading my projects on behance.net and finally updated my LinkedIn account. And now it’s time to share a recipe here.

20121027140208

Cupcakes!

Do I need to say more? YES.

VEGAN CUPCAKES that are so fluffy and tasty that only your calories-counting body can tell the difference.

I don’t count calories, but when it comes to certain ingredients, I like to limit my intake. I don’t like excessive use of butter (I know, it tastes good) because when it’s on a cupcake for example, I’d like to have more than one and still feel guilt-free (or at least low guilt levels.) Therefore, I looked for a cupcakes recipe that doesn’t use butter or any of its replacements. I found one that doesn’t even has any dairy products or eggs or any replacement.

Isn’t this recipe the best?

20121112172645

I have never yet had someone taste these cupcakes without getting that “uhhhh, mmmm” sound and the need to have another one. It has become as addiction to bake these awesome cupcakes and enjoy the look on my friends’ faces while having those delicious and light cupcakes.

After mastering this recipe and finally being satisfied with it, I decided to share it with you.

IMG_20120731_091457

I based my recipe on TheKitchn.com’s Vegan Chocolate Ginger Orange Cupcakes with some of my own modifications. And you know what? You could modify it in any way you like too. Just get creative. I made a 3-layer cake out of it for my sister’s birthday a few months ago.

IMG_20121111_220503

Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes makes 24 cupcakes

3 cups flour (I like to replace ½ a cup of flour with corn starch to make the cake lighter)
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups natural cane sugar
1 2/3 cups water (or cold freshly brewed coffee)
1/2 cup canola oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
4 tablespoons orange zest
4 tablespoons cider vinegar

Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius.
Mix all dry ingredients and whisk to combine.
Add water, oil, vanilla, and orange zest. Stir to combine.
Add vinegar and stir quickly to combine.
Things will be slightly foamy and lighter in color. Once the mix turns slightly darker again you know you’ve incorporated all the vinegar and you’re set to pour it into muffin tins.
Bake for 15 minutes.
Allow to sit in pan for 5 minutes, remove and place on wire rack until completely cool.

And for the frosting, frost with chocolate ganache, or if you’re OK with dairy products, use cream cheese frosting.

1342007656277

I have made them with dried cranberries, shaved dark chocolate, dark chocolate pieces placed in the cups before baking,

20121112172914

Just a note on the side, I had dinner this week at Marion Bistro at Le Mall – Dbayeh. I’ve had a delicious Coq au Vin and shared one foodgasmic chocolate and caramel mousse. The chocolate curls on top made me melt and made my friend start to tingle. Simply amazing!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

Share Your Thoughts

