Mushroom soup for the cold and sick

Image
The storm is now gone but did I really hear that there is another one coming on its way? I’d better get ready and not get sick again. Yes I got sick and spent the previous 3 days dragging my body from the couch to bed and vice versa. As I previously mentioned, food was all I was getting on my mind.

When you’re sick, what comes most to your mind?
What are the things that make you feel better?

Image
Food, hot drinks, series and movies

That’s all I did these 3 days. I tried whatever possible to keep myself warm. But apparently food is the only thing that is as pleasing as it is warming. Since I couldn’t get out of the house, I decided to cook with whatever was available.

I found a bag of mushrooms lying in the refrigerator drawer waiting to be used. And I did the most logical thing that can be done. COOK THEM.

Image

I searched for the easiest (knowing that I’m lazy) recipe of mushroom soup on the internet, and found this: Clean Eating Cream Of Mushroom Soup

Ingredients:
500 g Mushrooms (cleaned and sliced)
4 cups chicken stock (or your preferred stock)
2 tsp. Olive oil
¼ cup flour
2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
2 cups milk of choice (I used regular milk)

– Heat the oil in the pan and saute the mushrooms in the oil on low heat. The mushrooms will release their liquids. Keep stirring.
– Heat the stock in the soup pot while the mushrooms cook.
– Once liquids from the mushrooms are released, stir in the balsamic vinegar.
– Add the flour, which will absorb all the liquid in the pan.
– Put the mushrooms in the soup pot with the stock and add the milk.
– Add salt and pepper.
– Bring to boil, then lower the heat and simmer for 15 min while checking and stirring regularly.

Enjoy with croutons or bake rolls

Image

Image

This soup has done its job; filled my tummy, and kept me warm.

How did you spend these stormy days?

3 thoughts on “Mushroom soup for the cold and sick

Share Your Thoughts

