Food Obsession: Peanut Butter

20120618_181247
There are 2 things I’ve been crazy about recently; peanut butter and basil. These 2 ingredients can make my day anytime. I added a spoon of peanut butter over a chocolate cupcake and the feeling of that which sticks to the roof of your mouth is so good. My first encounter with peanut butter was almost a year ago. I bought a jar to taste it but I didn’t like it at first. Later on, the taste grew on me and I started to love the feeling. But the thing that turned me off was the high amount of fat (and saturated fat) in the store-bought jars. Only after two jars, I decided to make my own.

20120618_183028  20120618_181500

I found that homemade peanut butter is as good as store-bought. Of course it didn’t have this very creamy texture but it was creamy enough to be spreadable with tiny granules of peanuts. It’s simple, healthy and cost-efficient too. I also found out that if you leave if a couple of days in the refrigerator the texture would change with time, and mine turned great.

20120618_182604  20120618_181401 20120618_182506  20120618_182641

Homemade Peanut Butter
Makes around 2 jars

2 kg raw peanuts

Procedure:

  • Roast the peanuts until lightly browned
  • Crush in the food processor until you get fine ground peanuts
  • Keep the blades turning until you get a smooth paste (might take up to 10-15 minutes depending on the food processor you’re using. Be careful not to overheat the machine)

20120421_183237  20120421_190507  20120421_191702

You can take out some of the crushed peanuts and add them to the paste later to get chunky peanut butter.

My variation: I tried roasting and blending peanuts with their skin on. I got a good butter with a darker color and tiny pieces of skin.

To my taste, this recipe is good. But you can add flavors to it. Try adding sugar, salt, honey or maybe chocolate.

What do you think? Have you tried it?

9 thoughts on “Food Obsession: Peanut Butter

  1. Delicious!! I love peanut Butter! And better if u made at home!
    More healthy, less oil , less salt and less preservatives used than the processed !
    Question: how much time u used for the roasting?

    • It depends on the oven and its temperature. I use a small electric oven and I roast them for 15-20 minutes stirring occasionally to make sure they’re all roasted equally.
      And yes, the fact that they are all-of-that-poison free is what makes them more desirable to me

  2. That’s it, nothing more to add? It will become a paste all by itself?
    I adore peanut butter and the fact that no one else in my family loves it is great 😀
    Any idea how much the 2 kg of peanuts cost?

    • Isn’t that awesome? 2 whole jars for yourself?
      The creaminess of the peanut butter depends on how powerful/sharp your food processor is. It was fine for me, not the full creaminess of the processed (with additives) store bought one but i like the texture.
      It’s getting better with time though, of course in the fridge, otherwise it would go bad with this heat and separate.

      2 Kg of raw peanuts should not cost more then 10$
      Look around for prices around you too

      Will you be making it?

      • I agree with you on the basil as well, and I personally add cinnamon to the list 🙂
        I will definitely try it, I don’t know why I’ve never thought about doing it myself before. I would welcome any similar ideas.
        Cheers

        • In my next posts, I’ll be making coconut butter/cream, homemade hazelnut butter (similar to nutella) and basil pesto. I love homemade alternatives

  3. Pingback: Food Addiction: Basil | Cola كلسات و

  4. Great idea! Kids in the US grow up on it and some adults even take peanut butter sandwiches to work with them every day, it is the one food that my daughter missed while getting adjusted to life in Beirut but thankfully it is available everywhere !

    • I love peanut butter and jam sandwiches in the morning to work.
      I had a peanut butter and banana sandwich this morning, sounds weird but it’s really good.

      The last batch I made was very fluffy and creamy. It tastes great as well.

Share Your Thoughts